The Northerner

NKU Athletics announces 2017 Hall of Fame class

The Norse men's soccer team celebrate on the field in Louisville after winning the 2010 National Championship

Christopher Decker, Sports Editor

February 10, 2017

NKU Athletics announced that they will induct seven new individuals and one team into their Hall of Fame on Feb. 23 at BB&T Arena.  Steven Beattie, Bethany Gastright Flick, Linda Honigford, Andy Listerman, Matt Marksbury, Derrik Moeves, Ricki Rothbauer and the 2010 men's soccer National Champions...

The John Basalyga story: Part Two

John Basalyga moments after winning the 2010 NCAA DII National Championship

Christopher Decker, Sports Editor

February 8, 2017

Basalyga sat in his office in 1979. He was also the quarterback coach  for the Turpin football team and the baseball coach at the time. The phone rang in his office and at the other end of the line he hears the voice of the athletic director. “He says to me ‘It says here on your resume that you play...

The Independent Student Newspaper of Northern Kentucky University.
National Championship