Sigma Tau Delta honors new members

Subject: Sigma Tau Delta Induction Contact Name: Emily Detmer-Goebel, Dept. of Literature and Language Phone Number: 859-572-5280 Date: November 15, 2004

Top students in English were honored for their high academic achievement recently in ceremonies conducted by the Pi Omega chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society. In the ceremony on November 10th, 31 Northern Kentucky University English majors were recognized for their personal accomplishment and awarded lifetime membership and honor cords. The new members are: Tanesha Nicole Anderson, Cincinnati, OH Cassie Auxier, Latonia, KY Kyla Benthien, Pleasant Plain, OH Kathryn Beulterman, Highland Hts. KY Ashley Dawn Boswell, Carrollton, KY Jessica Bricking, Edgewood KY Gwendolyn Buchanan, Fort Thomas, KY Chaz Burke, Petersburg, KY Nicole Cairns, Crescent Springs, KY Michael S. Connelly, Cincinnati, OH Regan Coomer, Highland Hts. KY Angela Daut, Lakeside Park, KY Christine Dietz, Erlanger, KY Courtney M. Doyle, Newport, KY Melanie Anne Drake, Cincinnati, OH Jubal Faircloth, Dry Ridge, KY Rebecca Kilby, Erlanger KY Patricia M. Klopfer, Hebron, KY Emily Mason, Cincinnati, OH Larissa McGraw, Ft. Thomas, KY Jamie McIver, Alexandria, KY Shannon McNay, Cincinnati, OH Jennifer Messerschmidt, Milford, OH Janice M. Mueller, Highland Hts. KY Monica L. Rhodes, Critterden, KY Laura Schaefer, Independence, KY Maria T. Schneider, Cincinnati, OH Julie M. Shirk, Cincinnati, OH Jennifer Smothers, Latonia, KY Robyn Velosky, Dayton, KY 41074 Melissa Webber, Cincinnati, OH

In addition to conferring distinction on outstanding students, Sigma Tau Delta promotes interest in literacy and literature on local campuses and in the surrounding community, and fosters the discipline of English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing.